Archiving in Stitch

Last Updated: Apr 12, 2019 09:54AM PDT
With few exceptions, we recommend archiving rather than deleting in Stitch. Deleting data in an integrated system often has unintended consequences. Archiving removes unwanted data from view without permanently erasing it.

Note: This article applies to both our Stitch X and Stitch Classic Versions.

Archiving

The following records can be archived:
  • Products - All
  • Variants - See below
  • Orders - Closed/Void
  • Purchase orders - Closed
  • Transfer orders - Closed
  • Contacts - All
  • Channel listings - All
Archive any record from that record's detail page:

To archive in bulk, select multiple records, then click Bulk Actions > Archive:

Archiving items in Stitch will remove them from the default table view, but not from reporting. Archived items can always be accessed through the Archived filter, where they can be un-archived if needed.

Archiving a product or its linked listings will prevent Stitch from syncing data (such as stock values) back to your integrated sales channel. 

To archive variants, perform these steps:
  1. Create a product and name it something generic, like Archived Variants.
  2. Move the variants you want to archive into that product.
  3. Archive the product.

Deleting

Deleting records in Stitch will permanently and irreversibly remove data. We recommend only deleting duplicates, test products, or items created by accident. The following records can be deleted:
  • Products - Before sale/purchase/transfer
  • Variants - Before sale/purchase/transfer
  • Orders - All
  • Purchase orders - Before receipt of stock
  • Transfer orders - Before transfer of stock
  • Contacts - All
  • Channel listings - None

Note: Deleting a contact will delete any open order associated with that contact; any purchase orders associated with that contact may fail to load.